
 
Steve’s wording. 
Explanation of the batting out of order rule. 

In the top of the 2nd Inning batter 5 Roberts is the leadoff batter. Batter 7 Swan walks into 
the batter’s box next. He takes 2 pitches 1 ball and 1 strike. The scorer then says to batter 6 
Black that he/she should be batting not Swan. The fielding team calls time and asks the 
umpire for batting out of order. The umpire works out that it is the incorrect batter in the 
box. All he does is gets batter 6 Black to come into the batter’s box and batter 7 Swan goes 
and sits down. Batter 6 Black will assume 
the 1 ball and 1 strike count that was on batter 7. The game continues without any penalty. 

Two innings later batter 2 Smith leads of the batting and gets a safe hit and is at 1st base. 
Batter 4 Green comes up next and hits the first pitch and gets safe to 1st. The fielding team 
now appeal to the umpire for batting out of order. The umpire has a look and says yes they 
are correct. He then applies the batting out of order penalty which is the batter who should 
have batted (in this example that is batter 3 Jones) is called out and all actions that resulted 
from batter 4 Green getting on base are nullified and everyone on base will return to the base 
held when Green came to bat. The next batter up will be the batter who follows the batter 
given out. So in this example batter 4 Green will come back to the batter’s box and start 
his/her turn at bat again. 
If the fielding team had of come to the umpire for batting out of order after a pitch had been 
delivered to the next batter in this case batter 5 Roberts then all actions from the previous 
incorrect batter batting will stand and the game goes on without any penalty. Batter 3 Jones 
would just miss out on a turn at bat in this innings. 
Should any body still have difficulty understanding this rule please let me know and I will 
come and run a short information session on a Saturday morning for you. 
 
 
 
 
It is a little more complex than that! 
Explanation of the batting out of order rule. 
 
Example 1  
Before Batter has completed his turn at bat.  
In the top of the 2nd Inning batter 5 Roberts is the leadoff batter. Batter 7 Swan walks into 
the batter’s box next. He takes 2 pitches 1 ball and 1 strike. The scorer then says to batter 6 
Black that he/she should be batting not Swan. The fielding team calls time and asks the 
umpire for batting out of order. The umpire works out that it is the incorrect batter in the 
box. All he does is gets batter 6 Black to come into the batter’s box and batter 7 Swan goes 
and sits down. Batter 6 Black will assume 
the 1 ball and 1 strike count that was on batter 7. The game continues without any penalty. 
 
Example 2  
After Batter has completed his turn at bat – with next batter after proper batter batting. 
Two innings later batter 2 Smith leads of the batting and gets a safe hit and is at 1st base. 
Batter 4 Green comes up next and hits the first pitch and gets safe to 1st. The fielding team 
now appeal to the umpire for batting out of order. The umpire has a look and says yes they 
are correct. He then applies the batting out of order penalty which is the batter who should 
have batted (in this example that is batter 3 Jones) is called out and all actions that resulted 
from batter 4 Green getting on base are nullified and everyone on base will return to the base 



held when Green became a Batter-Runner. The next batter up will be the batter who 
follows the batter given out. So in this example Batter 4 Green will come back to the batter’s 
box and start his/her turn at bat again. 
Had Batter 4 Green not made 1st base safely, and the fielding team now appeal to the 
umpire for batting out of order. The umpire has a look and says yes they are correct. He then 
applies the batting out of order penalty which is the batter who should have batted (in this 
example that is Batter 3 Jones) is called out and all actions that resulted from batter 4 Green 
getting out, are nullified and everyone on base will return to the base held when Green 
became a Batter-Runner. The next batter up would normally be the batter who follows the 
batter given out. But in this example, as Batter 4 Green had been called out, Batter 5 
Roberts will come to the batter’s box. 
 
If the fielding team had of come to the umpire for batting out of order after a pitch had been 
delivered to the next batter in this case batter 5 Roberts then all actions from the previous 
incorrect batter batting will stand and the game goes on without any penalty. Batter 3 Jones 
would just miss out on a turn at bat in this innings. 
 
Example 3  
After Batter has completed his turn at bat – with next batter after proper batter batting, and 
runner on base steals base(s). 
Two innings later Batter 2 Smith leads of the batting and gets a safe hit and is at 1st base. 
Batter 4 Green comes up next, on the next pitch, he takes a ball count with Smith stealing 
to 2nd, and then he hits the next pitch and gets safe to 1st. The fielding team now appeal to 
the umpire for batting out of order. The umpire has a look and says yes they are correct. He 
then applies the batting out of order penalty which is the batter who should have batted (in 
this example that is Batter 3 Jones) is called out and all actions that resulted from Batter 4 
Green getting on base are nullified and everyone on base will return to the base held when 
Green became a Batter-Runner, (ie Smith returns to 2nd). The next batter up will be the 
batter who follows the batter given out. So in this example Batter 4 Green will come back to 
the batter’s box and start his/her turn at bat again. 
Had Batter 4 Green not made 1st base safely, and the fielding team now appeal to the 
umpire for batting out of order. The umpire has a look and says yes they are correct. He then 
applies the batting out of order penalty which is the batter who should have batted (in this 
example that is Batter 3 Jones) is called out and all actions that resulted from Batter 4 Green 
getting out, are nullified and everyone on base will return to the base held when Green 
became a Batter-Runner (ie Smith returns to 2nd). The next batter up would normally be the 
batter who follows the batter given out. But in this example, as Batter 4 Green had been 
called out, Batter 5 Roberts will come to the batter’s box. 
 
If the fielding team had of come to the umpire for batting out of order after a pitch had been 
delivered to the next batter in this case batter 5 Roberts then all actions from the previous 
incorrect batter batting will stand and the game goes on without any penalty. Batter 3 Jones 
would just miss out on a turn at bat in this innings. 
 
Example 4  
After Batter has completed his turn at bat – batter further down list bats out of order. 
Two innings later batter 2 Smith leads of the batting and gets a safe hit and is at 1st base. 
Batter 7 Swan comes up next and hits the first pitch and gets safe to 1st. The fielding team 
now appeal to the umpire for batting out of order. The umpire has a look and says yes they 
are correct. He then applies the batting out of order penalty which is the batter who should 
have batted (in this example that is Batter 3 Jones) is called out and all actions that resulted 
from Batter 7 Swan getting on base are nullified Roberts is removed from 1st and everyone on 
base will return to the base held when Swan became a Batter-Runner. The next batter up 



will be the batter who follows the batter given out. So in this example Batter 4 Green will 
come to the batter’s box, followed by Batter 5 Roberts. 
Had Batter 7 Swan not made 1st base safely, and the fielding team now appeal to the 
umpire for batting out of order. The umpire has a look and says yes they are correct. He then 
applies the batting out of order penalty which is the batter who should have batted (in this 
example that is Batter 3 Jones) is called out and all actions that resulted from Batter 7 Swan  
getting out, are nullified and everyone on base will return to the base held when Roberts 
became a Batter-Runner. The next batter up will be the batter who follows the batter given 
out. So in this example Batter 4 Green will come to the batter’s box, followed by Batter 5 
Roberts, Batter 6 Black, then Batter 8 Henry. 
As Batter 7 Swan had been called out, Swan will not come to the batter’s box until after 
Batter 6 Black has batted again. 
 
If the fielding team had of come to the umpire for batting out of order after a pitch had been 
delivered to the next batter in this case Batter 8 Henry, then all actions from the previous 
incorrect batter batting will stand and the game goes on without any penalty. Batter 3 Jones,  
Batter 4 Green, Batter 5 Roberts and Batter 6 Black would just miss out on a turn at bat in 
this innings. 
 
Should any body still have difficulty understanding this rule please let me know and I will 
come and run a short information session on a Saturday morning for you. 


